Noob question about rackmount tuner

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by srh, May 18, 2007.

1. srh

srh saahweet

Dec 8, 2006
    New Jersey
    ok, I think Im doing this wrong. I just got my rackmount tuner a little while ago, and im pretty sure im plugging things in wrong. I just plugged the actual plug from the tuner straight into the wall, so whenever I want to tune, I just flip the switch, put my amp on mute, take the cable out, plug it into the tuner, tune, and put it back into my amp :help:

If im not mistaken, isnt there a way to tune withought having to pull cables out? I see on videos and stuff where the tuner is always on, is that part of it? Im lost, sorry im a noob with this stuff..

anyone know what im asking?
    heres a picture of my amp setup if it would help any

steveamp2.jpg

2. Jason Gale

Jason Gale

Nov 14, 2004
    I have mine running through the effects loop on my amp so that when I press mute on the tuner it mutes the amp ready for me to tune. I don't need to unplug or anything either.

3. srh

srh saahweet

Dec 8, 2006
    New Jersey
    ok, thanks, I wil try that.

Anyone else have a different way they do this?

4. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Retired Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    Many amps have a tuner out jack. If you have one, just run a cable from that to the input jack of the tuner. Most rack-mount tuners have inputs on both the front and the back. That makes it pretty tidy, because there are no cables on the front of the rack. On this rig, I just plug into the Aggie, and the tuner is always on.

Attached Files:

5. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Retired Member

May 6, 2000
    San Diego (when not at Groom Lake)
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego