1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Noob Question. Hoping someone will be kind enough to indulge me.

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassinplace, Oct 29, 2018.

1. bassinplace

bassinplace

Dec 1, 2008
    Not a noob to bass playing, but I've been playing out of the same 350 combo for the past 10+ years and have done little to no research on gear in that time. But, I finally wanted to upgrade, so I got the Mark Bass Little Mark Tube 800. I was just wondering if anyone else here has one who could give me a quick rundown on the controls. It came new out of the box with no description whatsoever. Any help is much appreciated. :)

2. bassinplace

bassinplace

Dec 1, 2008
  3. Mushroo

Mushroo Supporting Member

Apr 2, 2007
    Massachusetts, USA
    Some microphones require 48 volt "phantom power" for proper operation. The phantom switch allows you to use this type of microphone with your Markbass. If you play electric bass only, then you would probably never use this feature. But very useful for acoustic bassists who use that type of mic.

Phantom power - Wikipedia

bassinplace and HaphAsSard like this.
  4. HaphAsSard

HaphAsSard

Dec 1, 2013
    Italia
    VLF means "very low frequencies", and it's not a Markbass control.

VLE stands for "vintage loudspeaker emulation" and is a treble cut.
    VPF = "variable pre-shape filter", basically a contour knob: scoops (low-)mids while it boosts treble and bass.

Here they are, in pedal form:
    MARKBASS | Products | Super Booster

bassinplace likes this.
  5. mikewalker

mikewalker Supporting Member

Jul 30, 2017
    Canada, Eh!
    Try some of those Youtube reviews... might be a good demonstration hiding there :)

bassinplace likes this.
  6. bassinplace

bassinplace

Dec 1, 2008