Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

noob to bass needs help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by blindwscience, Oct 11, 2005.

1. blindwscience

blindwscience

Oct 11, 2005
    OK, i'm pretty much a total newbie to bass and guitars and stuff. I've been kinda learning how to play guitar on an acoustic, but I think bass guitar is what I really want to do. I've been reading around the forums a little, and I think I want a 5 string. I searched around on musician'sfriend.com, but I didn't really know what to look for. I really like the sound of Toast Machine (website and i want to kinda emulate that. So can you guys help me?

2. Moo

Moo Banned

Dec 14, 2002
    Oakland, CA
    Took a look at the site, he plays a Modulus with a single pickup. Here's a good shot.

[​IMG]

To cop that style of sound you'll want a bass with a wide humbucker in the middle position and a preamp or amp that you can boost the bass & treble. A Stingray perhaps? A Ken Smith would be similar.

3. blindwscience

blindwscience

Oct 11, 2005
    "To cop that style of sound you'll want a bass with a wide humbucker in the middle position and a preamp or amp that you can boost the bass & treble. A Stingray perhaps? A Ken Smith would be similar."

Is this what you are talking about? I was really looking for one that was around 400 dollars. Sorry, I really don't know the bass lingo yet. What does "humbucker in the middle position" mean?

EDIT:
    I looked around a little, and saw this. What does Jazz and P bass refer to? Will I get a pretty similar sound from any bass, or will i have to get a specific bass to sound a certain way (like a modulus, without spending $2000.)

EDIT again: How about this?

4. Moo

Moo Banned

Dec 14, 2002
    Oakland, CA