Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Noobie with setup questions?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Chasarms, Feb 26, 2002.

1. Chasarms

Chasarms Casual Observer

May 24, 2001
    Bettendorf, IA USA
    I just purchased my first URB. With my budget, tastes, interests and after reading as much as I could, I ended up landing an Engelhardt ES9.

As I have read many times here, the key to a good bass is setup. I figured as much. I have been playing EBG and acoustic for 16 years. Of course, there's nothing out there I can't get right on a EBG with the right allen wrench and a little patience. With this big boy, I am lost.

I have reviewed the Hammond Ashley site and have seen that they sell basses that have been "set up" and the costs are as high as and additional $750. They include a new post, bridge and a great deal of hand work. Even scraping and oiling the neck? Is that similar to sanding the laquer off the neck of an EBG?

Of course, it also includes new strings and such.

Should I expect to spend another $750 on the bass to make it sound and play suitably?

If so, I will have to take it in steps. Can someone offer me a short list of a few things to start with and perhaps work into that $750 worth of work over the course of a couple of years or so.

Thanks very much,

Chas

2. Christopher

Christopher

Apr 28, 2000
    New York, NY
    Planing fingerboard and shaping the bridge/nut should be your priorities, as you will injure yourself without them.

IMO, the other stuff can wait.

3. As much as we all like to save money, we also have to realize that quality work is going to cost more that average or less than average work.