1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Nooby starting to play bass. Please help!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by aznb0y1113, Dec 5, 2011.

1. aznb0y1113

aznb0y1113

Dec 5, 2011
    Hello, guys. I'm new to the forums, so I don't know the layout of everything and whatnot. I'm also new to playing the bass, and I don't know where to start! I hope that fellow members, teachers, and awesome players can give me some advice for me on what to work on.

About myself
    Previous instrument: ex-piano player who played for 7+ years (not very well, though. I just recently learned all my scales and how to play correctly/cleanly)
    Current bass: Left-handed Fender Mexican Jazz Bass, 4-string; played for a couple of weeks
    Occupation: A pre-med student in a university, so I don't have much time to dedicate for the bass.

Knowledge of music theory
    Scales: I know all of the major/minor scales and their key signatures. I haven't applied all of them on the bass yet (Doing my major scales for the time being, about to move onto F# major).I don't know what "dorian" or "myxolyodian" are and how/when to start them, and how much time that I can dedicate to them. I have no idea what modes are and how much time that I should spent on them as well.
    Chords: I have some slight ideae on what a E#7 (and augmented, diminished, etc.), but I don't know how many chords that I should learn in a day and in what order.
    Style: I only know classical pieces from piano. I kinda lack the creative thought of improvising but am trying to work on it. I never played jazz or blues before.
    Notes: I can read notes, piano keys (you guys ever heard of Synthesia?), and tabs very well. I cannot read chords.