1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Nordy, Elrick NJS, Sadowsky Metro, or Other?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Mr. Jiggy Fly, Nov 27, 2010.

1. Hey there everyone! I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving.

I learned to play bass on a fretless and I've used the same Warwick fretless since I was 14. However, over the past year or so I've become increasingly tired of the tone and I've considered selling the bass to buy a fretted 4. I recently started playing with a very gifted drummer and pianist in a funk/jazz/world music combo and I believe that it is finally time to invest in a new bass that I can use as my new main player.

I have spent a great deal of time researching potential candidates, listening to recordings, and determining what would be the best fit for my playing style and genres. I'll be playing through an Epifani UL502 and Bergantino HT112ER. I've narrowed it down to the following three:

Nordstrand Nordy VJ4
    Elrick NJS 4
    Sadowsky Metro MS4

Ideally, each would have an ash body and maple fingerboard. The Nordy would most likely be fitted with the Audere preamp and big singles while the other two would use their stock pres and j p/us.

In terms of neck shape/comfort, I am completely unfamiliar with the differences between the three. If anyone could provide some insight in that aspect I would be extremely grateful.