Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Not another one! but slap bass...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by chilipepperflea, Apr 19, 2005.

1. chilipepperflea

chilipepperflea Guest

Apr 13, 2005
    East Anglia
    Hey everyone, well a little background...

I'm 17 and have been playing bass for about 3 1/2 months, ages i no! lol, i'm self taught and as you can guessed by the name my favourite band is the red hot chili peppers.

My problem is trying to get a decent slap sound, and how to play slap properly, (does anyone know of any online free videos that i can see slap close up to check my technique pls?)

I think i have roughly the right technique but i was trying to use slap on can't stop by the red hot chili peppers. Now using my fingers i can do it perfectly, no problem, when i get to slap i'm getting better but my concern is when i play notes on the E string, i get a weird popping sound on the slap.

Im pretty sure its the string hitting the silver fret dividers (not sure of the name??), yet on the other strings this does not happen?? i'm 99% sure im not hitting the pickup.

Sorry for being longwinded but if anyone could pass on their advice id be more than gratefull, thankyou

Ryan

2. The silver bars are the frets. The spaces in between are just the spaces between frets. When you slap, the strings are supposed to hit the frets. That's where you get the slap tone from. It sounds to me like your string is hitting the pole piece on your pickup. You can either lower your pickups, slap more lightly, or paste a thin piece of padding over the pole pieces.

EDIT: I notice that you think it isn't hitting the pickup. Double check, because that's exactly what it sounds like to me.

3. where is your thumb when ur are slapping? if its off the fretboard if had it create a wierd poping sound you described, try moving your thumb aroudn a bit to see whta happenes