Not convinced with my fretless tone

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Alvaro Martín Gómez A., Nov 24, 2004.

1. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

Alvaro Martín Gómez A. TalkBass' resident Bongo + cowbell player

Hi everybody.

Since I started playing fretless bass like three years ago, I haven't been convinced with my tone. I mean, I can't hear enough of that typical mwah so prominent in most famous fretless recordings. Maybe it's not a technique but a setup problem, maybe it's the bass or maybe the tone is OK but I'm not happy with it, so I want you to see and give me opinions. The link below will allow you to download a video (5.7 MB - 34 secs.) of a gig that I played two weeks ago and there's a short fretless solo (it's a very famous tune, BTW). I hope it is enough for you to judge. Not so good sound, but clear, I think. The file will be available for the next seven days.

Thank you in advance.

P.S.: Please excuse the out-of-tune notes! :rolleyes:
  2. Can't really hear it too much, so I'd really just need a better sample before making any sort of judgment. Sounds pretty good to me, though.
  3. Pink

I like your's nice:)
  4. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.

You're right, man. And thank you! :)
  5. Dr. Funk

Dr. Funk

Oct 10, 2001
    That was pretty cool. Seems like you were tapping and I think you would need to dig in with more of a plucking technique to get some mwah. I like your style, you sound really good.
  6. Alvaro Martín Gómez A.