Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Not digging the Exposed Core "B"

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Scott Cutrer, Sep 15, 2001.

1. Scott Cutrer

Scott Cutrer Guest

Aug 21, 2000
    Richmond, VA
    I got a set of Smith Rockmasters(6) for my Modulus, and I did not like the B string at all. It felt like the bass lost the gutsy bottom end. Then I looked at an old bass player mag from 96 that evaluated strings, and surprise but the reviewers said that for the most part they did not like the tone of the exposed core B strings. They said that it seemed that although a good idea as far as clarity, it really did not work because it seems that the lack of string mass over the bridge caused less resonance in the bridge and body from the B string.
    Thought it was interesting.

2. john turner

john turner You don't want to do that. Trust me. Staff Member Administrator

Mar 14, 2000
    atlanta ga
    wow. that's not ever been my experience - i've been very happy with the bass response of the dean markley sr2000's i use on the low b (and the low F# too). maybe its the strings.

on mine, the core is not totally exposed, but rather, exposed down to the last winding.

3. Scott Cutrer

Scott Cutrer Guest

Aug 21, 2000
    Richmond, VA
    John, I used to use the Dean Markley Will Lee 6 String set on my first Quantum 6 and I liked em. But these Ken Smiths are not doing it at all. The bass sounded better with the dead (original) strings that were on it as far as the "B" string goes. It might be the guage however, these are really light.28-120. I dont think I have ever used a 6 string set that light. I think it might be a combination, maybe. What do you use now?