not exactly amp question, but question about plug...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by KataPolt, Aug 24, 2004.

1. KataPolt

Aug 4, 2004
    Hi everybody,

I live in an apartment with roomates, and I must keep my bass equipment in my room. My room only has 1 outlet, and it only accepts plugs with 2 'teeth' (does not have the 'hole' to allow the 3rd, lower 'tooth').

All my equipment requires the 3 'teeth' outlet. I am not good with electronics...

What do you recommend I do, so I can use my 3 'teeth' equipment lines?

I am sorry if I made this topic in the incorrect forum. I could not find a more appropriate forum. :oops:
  2. Run an extension cord from a plug in another room then plug a 6 plug bar into that somewhere in your room, problem solved and you can plug everything you need into it.
  3. KataPolt

Aug 4, 2004
    Good idea! I am not at home now, and I do not know if other rooms nearby have the '3 teeth' outlets in them...

Are there other easy solutions? :meh:
  4. Jarrod

Jan 1, 2002
    Los Angeles, CA
    the two normal prongs are the positive and negative connections that are needed to complete the circuit and draw power from the outlet when you plug your amp in. The third prong is a ground, which is a safety feature. You can buy an adapter from 3 prong to 2 prong for about a dollar at radioshack, so there's your answer. However, bass amps draw a LOT of current, and i really wouldn't recommend bypassing the ground for fear of causing damage to your equipment and/or electrical shocks to you... they put it there for a reason!

the better solution would be to have someone who knows what they are doing install a new outlet into your wall, assuming the apartment's wiring will allow it.
  5. Jarrod

Jan 1, 2002
    Los Angeles, CA