1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Not getting booked for gigs by an old friend

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by clodhopper, Mar 21, 2013.

1. clodhopper

clodhopper Guest

Jun 6, 2011
    I'd like some advice (possibly of the "stop being a dick" sort) about a situation I'm in with a very old and valued friend. We have been playing together for over 20 years and developed much of our musical outlook and thinking together. He is a pro musician and teaches jazz at a local college. I was a pro double bass player but about 15 years ago changed direction and pursued a career in an unrelated field. I've maintained my involvement in music to a lesser or greater degree over that time, mainly on electric bass. Over the last year I have really got back into playing and gigging and have got a double bass and got my technique together. I have played with this friend a few times in jam session type settings. Recently he has had a few high-profile jazz gigs and to my surprise has booked other bass players, without explanation. I have felt quite bad about this as I feel I can do as good a job as anyone on these gigs. I haven't mentioned anything to him about this. Last week he contacted me with the offer of a gig, but the music he wants to do is somewhat comedic in nature and certainly less serious than the music he plays on other gigs with other musicians. My feeling is that I'm now on his B or C list, and he will use other players for the top level gigs.