Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

not getting it...just not understanding.

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by WillySanchez, Jun 18, 2003.

1. ive been playing bass for 5 years...things are getting boring for me, i practice, but all my bass runs sound the same, i need some spice, i play slow indie rock, ben folds style, but i also listen to mingus, jaco, and monk, but im losing the vibe, ive tried doing scales to breathe life into my playing, but im not getting it, i dont understand how committing scales to memory can help me play better...i dont understand it. i dont wanna upgrade to a new bass until i deserve it, i find too many people subsitute shopping for new gear, for actual practice, help me practice!!!!! i need something to make things interesting and fun again.

2. Wrong Robot

Wrong Robot Guest

Apr 8, 2002
    I know where you are coming from, I have gone through ruts too.

There are a few things that might help.

one, just take a break, focus less on playing and practicing ,and more on listening to other music, and listening to the sounds of the world, to help you get inspired again.

Another thing you might want to try, start playing music you normally don't play, country or latin, or whatever you might not normally play, and when you do, just stick to the basics, again, listen to the music.

As for scales, They are important when it comes to soloing, I find that, having a comprehensive knowledge of scales and stuff, really helps making consonant and interesting solos possible, you will always know what notes will sound good and what notes are a little questionable, and be able to discern between them.