1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Not sure where to post this about compressors but here it goes ...

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Paul Orr, Sep 10, 2019.

1. Paul Orr

Paul Orr

Aug 13, 2019
    Syracuse, NY
    Hi guys ... I just started playing bass again in a group after 15 years away.

I am gigging a Markbass Little Mark II with a 2x10 cab, soon to add a second 2x10 cab.

I noticed certain notes are louder and more boomy than others. For example, an F is okay but an A note on either the E string or on an open A string is really loud.

Do I need a compressor or something?

Paul

2. abarson

abarson

Nov 6, 2003
    Santa Cruz
    It might be a matter of needing a good setup. I'd start with that.

superheavyfunk and lowplaces like this.
  3. lowplaces

lowplaces Got Punch ?

Dec 20, 2015
    Louisville Kentucky
  4. basadam

basadam

Nov 29, 2005
    It may very well be the room and placement of the cab. Did you try it anywhere else? Move the cab within the same room or change the angle, if it's on the floor put it on a desk or vice versa before spending money on a pedal.

5. That would be my bet...

Element Zero likes this.
  6. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    I would add a decent comp and HPF just on general principle, irrespective of the rig and/or sonic anomalies. Lots of great suggestions above including placement.

Riis

lowplaces likes this.
  7. sears

sears Supporting Member

Aug 7, 2005
    ec, md
    An HPF often helps with boomy notes (or clusters of notes) in the middle of the instrument's range in certain rooms and not others.

edited to add: "an HPF.. an 'igh pass filter!"

lowplaces likes this.
  8. And I

And I Supporting Member

Feb 19, 2009
    Witchtown, MA