Notating Looped Compositions

Discussion in 'Ask Steve Lawson & Michael Manring' started by dhodgeh, Jun 11, 2005.

1. dhodgeh

Jul 15, 2004
    Hey Steve,

I'm just getting into this looping thing. Been playing with some software looper, and have just purchased a Boss RC-20XL and am getting to know it.

I'm curious though as to how to notate looped based compositions.

I assume one could use either standard notation or tab, but what is a good method organizing the phrases on paper?

Oh, I just downloaded your 'Grace and Gratitude' CD and really dig it. Keep up the good work.

2. Hey I am thinking of buying this Boss too!

Can you put layer on layer looping? With just your foot?

Sorry for disturbing your post but I had to ask :D
  3. Simple repeat signs will work for notating loops. Just write it out once and bracket it with a pair, writing the number of repetitions in. You'll have trouble with that if you try to write the melody line to align with the looped line. Then you'd have to write the loop out each time, which would be a pain. I'd probably just leave a big space and write something about how it repeated. You might also give a name to each loop, or a number, or a letter, and write something like "A x 3, B x 4, A, C x 2" at the top of the page, then write the melody line seperately. You could then write out each loop once with a note of its name.
  4. Steve Lawson

Steve Lawson Solo Bass Exploration! Supporting Member

Apr 21, 2000
    Birmingham, UK
    There's no convention as yet for notating loop tunes, so I'd do it as you see fit... if you're using the Boss looper, then notating what goes on the loop would be fairly easy as each loop will be the same length.

You might want to notate things on two pages, open next to each other - have page on for all the loop layers, and page two for the melody etc. and use signs to say when you switch to the next loop layer...