notes on the fretboard

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by (hed)-less, Mar 1, 2002.

1. hey everyone

ive been playing bass now for bout 3 years. despite this i have only taken up lessons about 3 months ago. the lessons are going great so far, its just theres some things im having trouble with that most of you will see as the simplist of tasks. the task in question is knowing the notes of the fret board (i know...i know)

the thing is, playing on my own in my bedroom for about 3 years i just messed around, learnt very little theory and just played mainly tabs (i was a foolish 13 year old at the time, lol). now im sort of paying the price...and sort of not. you see, my teacher, Daz, has actually said my technique is great and im coming along really well. im really good with playing slap and pop, finger, tap and plec styles and i can play with a good sence of time which im told is essential. i can play really steady too...even real fast finger lines that go on for ages, like the Prodigys "Breathe". its all in 16ths.

yeah well anyway, you would think playing for 3 years id at least know my notes on the fret board...i dont. before i was finding ways around it for lessons but now its getting to the point where i HAVE to learn them!

what im asking is, i know theres no easy way around it but, is there any advice or handy hints or helpful tricks or sumthing that you could tell me that would help me learn the notes quickly (as a week in time for my next lesson, lol). the only idea i can think of is just stare at a fretboard diagram for an hour or so, and that doesnt seem very effective to me.

any help at all is much appreciated

remember...GOD IS LOVE

2. beermonkey

Sep 26, 2001
    Seattle, WA
    Probably one of the best ways to memorize the fretboard is to practice 2 octave scales. As I recall that was one of the things that helped me waaaay back in the day.
  3. jazzbo

Aug 25, 2000
    San Francisco, CA
    Daz is a pretty cool bass instructor name.