Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Now that's a Double Bass

Discussion in 'Bass Humor [DB]' started by Steve Bassman, Oct 25, 2005.

1. Steve Bassman

Steve Bassman Supporting Member

Dec 3, 2003
    Tampa Bay, FL
  2. ....can you do that? Modified inside so you can put the soundpost somewhere? I'm rather new with DB's so I don't really know. Looks interesting though, thanks for posting.

3. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    That'd certainly be quite the effort to play...also, did anyone else notice the location? "Sunny Manitoba?" Sunny? Yeah, alright.

4. TroyK

TroyK Moderator Staff Member

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA
    Could play it on one of those dualing piano bars. Oh yeah, I can see it all coming together now.

5. BassChuck

BassChuck

Nov 15, 2005
    Cincinnati
    Somehow it seems strangely erotic.

6. Brent Norton

Brent Norton

Sep 26, 2003
    Detroit, MI
    Reminds me of that "lovers' toilet" skit on SNL from years back...

7. TroyK

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA
    Can you imagine the string combo discussion threads for this instrument?

"well, I use a E and A mettiel, a D Dominant and a G OLIV on the male side, but I'm thinking of trying Compas 180s on the female side, but I was wondering if the tension would be imbalanced with a LaBella G on one side and...."

8. Freddels

Freddels Musical Anarchist

Apr 7, 2005
    Sutton, MA
    Ah, but you wouldn't need to find the Holy Grail of strings that does both pizz and arco. Now just need to find two sets of strings.

9. TroyK

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA
    Excellent point! You could just spin it around when you pulled the bow out. I think this idea has legs.

10. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I wonder just how small a car I could get it into?

11. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    Hummer sounds about right.

12. TroyK