1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

NPD Cali76 Compact Bass. Suggestions on how to deal with easy clipping?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by MAFbass1992, Apr 17, 2018.

1. MAFbass1992

MAFbass1992 Supporting Member

Feb 4, 2012
    Montreal
    A couple of days ago I received my new Cali76 CB. Really impressed with the quality and sound of the pedal. I'm kinda new to compression and I pulled the trigger on this one because everyone seems to be using it! I like how versatile it is and how smooth the compression is.

I say that I'm new to compression because I used to have an Aguilar TLC that I was just tweaking ''in and there''. I ditched it because it had the old ''lip'' design and couldn't stay attached to my board. So here I am with a high end comp trying to understand it by not fiddling to much around!

Only downside to the Cali76 is I wasn't expecting to be able to clip so easily. The various settings shown in the manual show the input knob at 12, and I get a fair amount of distortion. I also tried to replicate several settings in different youtube demos and Talkbass users (There's a thread with users sharing their settings). To be honest, it doesn't really bug me that much, considering it still sounds good! The clipping could be used to have a distortion ''a la'' Vulfpeck, kinda Vulf compressor with Joe Dart digging it style of sound... If you know what I mean! ;)