Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Numerous Questions involving bass major, jazz bass, & more!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Bikeage, Mar 22, 2005.

1. Bikeage

Bikeage

Mar 22, 2005
    Well I thought since this is my first post on these forums, why not ask a few questions that's been on my mind the most! Also if this doesn't belong in this topic area I'm sorry.

My first question is that I was thinking of getting a BFA in Bass (jazz) performance at my college (currently attending a cal. state school). I've been playing bass for about 3-4 years & I'm definately confident in my skills as a rock bassist, but my knowledge of jazz bass is really limited (other than the fact that I listen to jazz a lot). I don't know how to read bass music (but I can read guitar pretty proficiently), and I would start learning learning how to read if it wasn't for this. If i want to pursue bass bfa in jazz, I'd have to pick up double (standup) bass. Now, I really am not familiar with it at all, and if the notation is different than bass guitar, it really wouldn't help me with upright bass if i learned how to read bass guitar sheet music. I haven't even gotten through a year of college yet, so I do have time to work on double bass. My question is, are the notations different, &should I just start learning how to read bass guitar right now? Also, I'd probably have to buy a double bass, so what are some good/cheap ones? (bass guitar i know all about, this i'm reaching in the blind here lol)? Is it worth it to go to jazz bass seminars even thoguh I don't own an upright one?

Sorry my questions are so boggled & the paragraph was muddy, I'm burnt out on 2 hours of shut eye. Many thanks to people that respond & offer help or any other suggestions!

2. Snarf

Snarf

Jan 23, 2005
    New York, NY