Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Nut vs Zero Fret

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by DP Custom, Oct 21, 2002.

1. DP Custom

DP Custom DP Custom Basses

Feb 7, 2001
    NC, USA
    I've heard the thoughts of those who prefer Zero frets, but I haven't heard from anyone as to why they would prefer a nut. Any thoughts out there?

2. Yvon

Yvon Supporting Member

Nov 2, 2000
    Montreal, Canada
    i prefer a zero fret, i can't see why not many builder use them.

3. jaybo

jaybo Guest

Sep 5, 2001
    Richmond, KY
    I've never really understood what the big deal is, in most band or ensemble situations I don't think anyone's going to notice a big difference in a stopped note or open string note on a properly set up bass. Perhaps I'm missing the point though as I'm no expert :p

4. Limo

Limo

Sep 22, 2002
    Reykjavik Iceland
    I totally agree, it doesn't make any difference at all to me.

5. BlacksHole

BlacksHole

Mar 22, 2000
    Rockville, MD
    I've never had a bass with a zero fret, but it sounds like a reasonable concept to me. If a fret slot is cot too wide, would a zero fret reduce or eliminate any rattling or other problems associated with a too wide nut slot?

6. I want an open string to sound like an open string - it gives me more choices. Plus, I've found the better the bass (and the better the player), the less the difference.

Jeff

7. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    It's a German luthier tradition, so most small builders use zero frets.

I like it. I probably won't buy a bass without one.

[EDIT] Forgot to tell you that my main bass has a zero fret.

8. I like the idea of a zero fret, but I haven't played enough basses with them to have a well educated opinion. I'll let everybody know what I think once I get my Heir this week.:D

9. JP Basses

JP Basses

Mar 22, 2002
    Paris FRANCE