OD, Distortion, ABY pedal

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Donald Wormuth, May 26, 2021.

1. I am a beginner with limited knowledge. And am jamming with a metal band playing Slipknot, Mudvayne, Static-x, Slayer covers. Ok, I am going to be running a two-amp system. Due to I will be using a guitar distortion pedal instead of a bass distortion. To keep my low bottom end that a guitar distortion pedal will be lost. I Got the Idea from video I attached at end of post. Now I want to run an OD pedal to boost my signal before the ABY. Because with signal being split in two signals will be week to both amps. My plan Is running my distorted signal to my Ampeg BA115 HP and my clean to my Bugera BXD 15 with mid's scooped and high's cut completely to insure just the low is coming through and will probably use the ultra-low. Maybe compression though I don't think that will even be worth it unless I get a pedal instead of the onboard on Bugera. Now is my understanding of od correct it's just basically increasing the signal right? This is where I got Idea from. (5) METAL PEDALS ON BASS - YouTube.

2. Pulverizor

Pulverizor

Jun 14, 2018
    New Zealand
    Why not a clean boost? Less colouring of your clean tone that way.
    s-l3005.jpg s-l300.jpg

Last edited: May 26, 2021
    Donald Wormuth likes this.
  3. How do I go about achieving that?

4. Thanks, Wouldn't OD boost signal in same manner as those? Or is the signal range different? I'm seriously wanting to get the best results and being a beginner am not familiar with those. Before I go and invest in a new pedal but if needed, I am all for it.

5. Pulverizor

Pulverizor

Jun 14, 2018
    New Zealand
    If you use an OD then you wouldn't have much of a clean tone to blend in and you'd be stacking gain stages into your overdrive channel and if it's the mighty Metalzone you'll be using then definitely DON'T stack a drive into it!