Odd message appearing when I log in to TalkBass...

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by Elemeninki, Jun 25, 2008.

  1. Everytime I go to the webstie 'www.talkbass.com' ( I'm saying this because it's only there, not something like www.talkbass.com/forums) a message box appears.

    It says:

    You have attempted to open a connection with "app.quicksizzle.com". However, the security certificate presented belongs to "www.godaddy.com". It is possible, though unlikely, that someone may be trying to intercept your communication with this website.

    If you suspect the certificate shown does not belong to "app.quicksizzle.com, then cancel the connection and notify the site administrator.

    I'm then given the view certificate, ok and cancel options.

    Does anyone have a clue what this is about? It's never happened before until today where it happens everytime I go to this website. Everytime it comes up I press cancel,but I'm worried about what it does/is doing. :meh:

    I'm using Firefox on Windwos XP, if that makes any difference.

    Thanks in advance.
  2. crispygoat

    crispygoat Guest

    Aug 22, 2006
    London, Ontario
    That's a problem with the Talkbass server / domain name.. not your computer...
  3. Sounds to me like ad/malware...

    If I were you I'd give the PC a scan, and delete cookies/temp files/browsing history.
  4. No, it's firefox and adblocker I think.

    Are you using those two?

    Adblocker is having issues with that ad server.
  5. I don't use adblocker but I do use firefox.

    I'll try giving the computer a scan and delteing the cookies and things.
  6. superfunk47


    Sep 9, 2007
    This exact same thing happens to me! :eyebrow:

    I've never even been to godaddy.com and this is happening to me...and I'm using Opera...It's the weirdest thing!

    The only options are 'accept,' 'cancel,' and 'help.' I always click cancel :meh:
  7. Ben B

    Ben B

    Jul 13, 2006
    San Diego, CA
    I'm getting the same message using Firefox. I don't think there is a problem our PCs. I suspect Firefox is blocking a popup that contains "questionable" information.

  8. Steve Clark

    Steve Clark

    Jan 9, 2004
    London ON
    I see the same message on PC/Firefox but not Safari/Mac
  9. RWP


    Jul 1, 2006
    Must be a Go Daddy problem like this one.

  10. flakeh

    flakeh Inactive

    Apr 21, 2007
    Ontario, Canada
    That would be one of two things

    A)Firefox's preset firewall is detecting some kind of launching application, And blocking it, therefore giving that nice little warning. By the sounds of it, its an application registered to godaddy servers, Or an error on Godaddys part. The security certificate part suggests this may be plausible.

    B) Talkbass's server is all sixes and sevens.
  11. BassyBill

    BassyBill Still here Gold Supporting Member

    Mar 12, 2005
    West Midlands UK
    And there I was, thinking digital communication was all 1s and 0s.
  12. BetterBottomEnd

    BetterBottomEnd <- Not me I just like looking at her

    Jan 9, 2007
    Cable Wi
    It's an issue with one of the ads thats being served up probably with something with their domain. It's only showing up on the front page because its a contextual ad thats only showing up for you there. My guess is theres nothing you or I or Paul can do about it. Accepting will probably just display the ad and cancel will now show it.