1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Of (SS) Strings and basses

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by knight of ni, Sep 18, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Almost a year ago I started playing bass again after almost 20 years of interruption (time flies by and it goes faster and faster). I decide to take it seriously this time (I wasn't very committed !), dump my old bass and buy a Sire JB. It seemed a reasonable deal at that time (the hype) and I always wanted a JB. It came with D'Addarios Ni roundwounds. Good sound but I in fact wanted more bite and growl so after some time, I buy a SBMM Ray34. It came with EB Slinky Ni roundwounds too. I thought it missed a bit of what I was looking for but didn't know why (maybe for not being a "real" EBMM ?). Anyway I fell in love with the MM basses so when again a few months later a classic sabre went on a sale at a bargain price I couldn't resist. It also came with Ni slinkies. And again that awkard feeling of the tone not being exactly how it should be. It dawned on me that the Sire was, in its category, the closest to the tone I imagined for each bass, and this was not a pleasant feeling. At this point, I should state that I like to play soul, funk, R&B finger style. And Slap, practicing rather than playing to be honest.