Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Oh Boy

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by bassbully43, Mar 12, 2006.

1. bassbully43

bassbully43

Jul 1, 2005
    Well...went into a new bar last week just to check it out and see if my band could get in the door....well they offer us the ST. Pats party this week:hyper: thats great but i am new to the band and never have played out with them.The band was not quite ready we are still a month from getting out...learning more songs etc.. so we can cover a 3-4 hour set. Any tips on covering 3 hour set on 30 or less classic rock covers? We can jam out on alot of songs and have say 3 breaks on the night but i am worried. Is it unheard of to re-peat songs late in the nite you did early on? We get one practice on thursday to run thru the set and dont have time to add many more:help:

2. Blueszilla

Blueszilla Bassist ordinaire

Apr 2, 2003
    The Duke City
    Not at all. I've done this in almost every band I've been in, at least in the beginning when we didn't have enough material. Just say that someone requested it. Most folks won't care if or even know, especially if it's a good dance tune.

Nothing like gigging under a bit of pressure to get your attention. IMO, it's good experience. Good luck, have fun.

3. bassbully43

bassbully43

Jul 1, 2005
    Thanks blue...yea we got some goodies to dance to.This band is new and i have posted my rants here before but we are excited but nervious...at least i am...there are a couple of songs i have a small problem in a part or two but i look at this as a challange and it will make me stronger and a better player in the end or come the next day after the gig i might be selling all my gear:smug:

4. DaftCat

DaftCat

Jul 26, 2004
    Medicine Hat
    Just remember if you screw up, quickly glare over at the guitar player. :)

5. bassbully43

bassbully43

Jul 1, 2005