Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Oh brother...

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by McHack, Feb 23, 2006.

1. McHack

McHack

Jul 29, 2003
    Central Ohio!
    I've been putting time into this project for a couple of months now, & this past Friday, we had our first performance. A 6 song set, which covers around 30 minutes.

I must say, I had my expectations set low. I've complained of our singer in the past, but it really came true. He was completely cornball, he sounded bad, & didnt enthral the audience one bit. I got my hands a couple of MP3's, & the band itself, sounds just fine. But, the singer just kills us.

I cant take it, & need to come up with a civil way to say, thx its been fun, but I've lost interest.

2. AlembicPlayer

AlembicPlayer Im not wearing shorts

Aug 15, 2004
    Pacific Northwet, USA
    how about..
    you're fired.

next!

3. Robert TPB

Robert TPB ThePerfectBass.com

Dec 13, 2005
    Baton Rouge, LA
    Or

"See the door? Use it."

4. McHack

McHack

Jul 29, 2003
    Central Ohio!
    It's not as simple as firing a singer. The singer is the band leader, & we use his work as our practice facility. Pretty much, I have to just quit.

5. DaftCat

DaftCat

Jul 26, 2004
    Medicine Hat
    The singer is either going to feel insulted or enlightened that they could use lessons.

Don't degrade your sense of accomplishment over that.

Let them down easy.

DCat,

6. DaveDeVille

DaveDeVille ... you talkin' to me ?? Supporting Member

is the rest of the band aware of your feelings about the " singer " ?

seems to me , if you and the rest of the band sound good together ,
    it's time to dump the problem child , and just move on ...

jmo , take with large grain of salt .

peace

EDIT :
    i just read your second entry , at least talk to the rest of the band first ....
    practice facility aside , what else does he provide ?