1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Oh My.... Which Micro amp?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by mausc, May 12, 2011.

1. mausc

mausc

May 12, 2011
    I'm a newbie registered on this site but I've been lurking and reading a lot of posts. Now I think I need a little advice.

I'm a part-timer with 30+ years of experience and (like most of you) have gradually move away from double stacks and all that crap of the 70s. I'm currently playing through a 10 year old GK R400RB/210-II combo. It's been a dead-reliable, and versatile amp. But now, partially due to GAS and the desire to become even more portable I'm building a new rig. Just picked up an SWR Golight 2x10 and I'm pretty happy with the ound, size, and weight. Now I'd like to pluck one of those new micro amps off the tree and have a nice little amp package.

I play primarily MM5s with DR lowriders but occasionally grab my 75 P-bass or my Signature Jazz (both passive). I play primarily rock and my sound tends to be kinda Geddy Lee growly. I rarely slap so that super transparent, bright thing isn't that important to me.

Heard and read good things about the GB Shuttle 6.0 and the MBfusion. Anything else I should consider?

Appreciate your thoughts

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    there are a ton of other ones you should consider. markbass, aguilar, ea, gb streamliners...pretty much everyone has a micro these days. my favorites these days are the ampeg portaflexes, though. for price vs tone, i think they're pretty unbeatable.

3. bombpop14

bombpop14

Apr 10, 2010
    Irvine, California USA
    Endorsing Artist Ampeg Amps
    I have the GK MB-500 and I love it. If you were happy with your 400rb you will find the tone familiar. I tried the MB fusion and found the tube preamp moot, but you might see it otherwise.