Dismiss Notice

Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, get alerts, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

OHM-ly u can help me......

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by christos, Feb 7, 2001.

1. I am not good with electrical stuff, so here is my question....On the back of my amp there is 2 pair of outputs for speakers, 1 pair says 4 ohm the other is 8 ohm....Right know the single 15" speaker is connected to the 8 ohm...... What is the difference and what scenerios would I have to change.......Thanks for any feedback......The amp that I am using is a MESA/BOOGIE Buster 200 combo if that helps at all....

2. I think that is a tube amp, so those numbers are important for the health of your amp. The 2 jacks labeled 4 ohms are connected in parallel, and the 2 jacks labeled 8 ohms are in parallel, I would think. If that is true, (check your manual or contact the manufacturer to verify), here are your options:

If you have (1) 8 ohm speaker, then plug it into (1) of the 8 ohm jacks.

If you have (2) 8 ohm speakers, then plug one into 1 of the 4 ohm jacks, and plug the other into the other 4 ohm jack, since (2) 8 ohm loads in parallel equals 4 ohms.

If you have (1) 4 ohm speaker, plug into one of the 4 ohm jacks.

If you have (2) 4 ohm speakers, pick your favorite one and use it, cause you can't plug them both into your amp without making a special plug, because that would be a 2 ohm load, and your amp has only 4 and 8 ohm taps.

If you have (2) 16 ohm cabinets, plug them both into the (2) 8 ohm jacks. The (2) 16 ohm cabs will be 8 ohms in parallel.

All of this is based on my assumption above. Verify that before proceeding. Learn this stuff, or you'll kill your nice amp.

Chris

3. Register_To_Disable

4. Hey "throbbinnut",