Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

ohmage help with a tube amp

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BassManPatsFan, Aug 21, 2005.

1. BassManPatsFan

BassManPatsFan Supporting Member

Feb 20, 2004
    San Francisco
    Hey guys Ive been playing for a couple years now and i finally feel the need and desire to upgrade my amp rig. As ive been playing, listening to other players, and trying to find "my sound" I have come across an attraction to the sound of old tube amps turned way loud. Ok maybe its turned slightly into an addiction, but basically im a young, poor bassist and I NEED TUBES!!!!

ok now that ive given you an intro, ill get to my question. The rig i had in mind to buy consists of an avatar 212 cab and possibly a mesa boogie buster bass 200 all tube head, iffffff i can find one that is. However, this head is out of production making it harder to find and also making it harder to find information on. The only information ive found does not tell me what impedence the head runs at. Maybe im missing something completely and ohms dont matter for tube heads or soemthing, but i havent found my answer anywhere. Id like to know this so i could know which cab to order from avatar (8 ohm or 4) and how this choice will effect the output of the amp.

Obviously these amps are hard to find, and i could very well find myself buying a totally different amp but do ohms matter for tube amps? I assume yes, but i know next to nothing about them, im just in love with the sound.

Thanks in advance for any help
    -Alex

2. BurningSkies

BurningSkies CRAZY BALDHEAD

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY
  3. BurningSkies

Feb 20, 2005
    Seweracuse, NY
    If you're gonna look for long gone Mesa bass amps that are tube but not as big as the 400, you should look for a Mesa D-180.

4. BassManPatsFan

Feb 20, 2004
    San Francisco