OHMS questions

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by BLonge, Jan 9, 2005.

1. BLonge

Jan 8, 2005
    this whole ohms thing is kind of confusing since im new to all of this, and i dont want to spend hundreds of dollars on equpiment just to have it catch on fire.

so how i understand it is, the head im looking at (swr workingman 4004) can run under 4 or 8 ohms. the cab im looking at (ashdown 4x10) is rated for 8. therefore, i should have the head playing at 8 ohms and theyll work fine. now, what if i got a 1x15 rated for 4 ohms. the head runs 260 watts under 8 ohms and the 4x10 can handle 300, so i guess its good to have some head room. however, if i add more cabs, will i be able to run the head at 4 ohms, giving me 400 watts and not harm any of the cabs??

im no electrician
  2. The 115 should be 8ohms, 8ohms + 8ohms = 4ohms which is what you want, not 8ohms + 4ohms = 2.66ohms or something, which would fry your amp and not sound good anyway.
  3. Tritone

Tritone Supporting Member

Jan 24, 2002
    Santee, America
  4. If you got just the 4 ohm 1x15 you'd also be fine, but yah you couldn't run both of them at the same time.

And headroom is more applicable to amps then to cabs - ie) so you only have your amps volume on 4 instead of 10 when you're playing with a loud group.
  5. BLonge

Jan 8, 2005
    answers breed more questions:

so i should get a head that can put out more watts than my speakers can handle so i don thave to turn it all the way up.

at the moment im looking at a yorkville Bass Head with Tube Preamp and it doesnt say andything about ohms,just that it puts out 400 watts. what does this mean? will it be ok with any cab? ive seena few heads that dont specify ohms.