Oil and wax finish question

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by cjmodulus, Jun 1, 2020.

1. cjmodulus

cjmodulus

Jul 15, 2010
    Hey everyone, I’m new to this corner of TB and haven’t really been on much recently at all.
    The long and short of it is that we ended up with some extra chalk paint and I’ve been bored lately so I figured I’d build a kit for the first time- a fretless 5 string jazz to be precise. I ordered the kit from the fretwire, it came promptly and is pretty nicely put together, Maple neck, rosewood board and alder body.
    I ended up doing the neck with teak oil and gunstock wax (it just ended up being what I could get ahold of) and it came out pretty nicely, the back feels great to the touch.
    As for the body, this is where I have questions. I assumed the process would be the same as using the chalk paint on the furniture, which was dead simple (kind of the main impetus for this build truthfully, it made finishing an instrument seem less daunting)- I did 2 coats of the paint and 3 coats of beeswax with buffing in between coats.
    The end result feels pretty nice- but in retrospect I’m realizing I probably should have applied some sort of oil or other finish to this as well before waxing. So to boil this all down to my actual questions:
    1) could I use the teak oil to finish the body as well? It’s watco brand if that makes a difference. If I have to get tung oil or the like I can, but I’ve still got plenty of the teak oil left that I’d like to use if possible.
    2) would it be possible for me to just apply it over the wax and then apply more wax over it, or would I have to sand it back down to the paint first?
    3) is oil on the body necessary at all?

thanks in advance for looking at the thread everyone- here are a couple pics of the process thus far, I’m pretty happy with how the paint came out given how little experience I have with this sort of thing. It’s been a lot of fun working on this thing so far!