1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

oil vs. water

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Killed_by_Death, Dec 22, 2018.

1. Definitely!

2. Definitely Not!

3. unsure

4. carrot juice is best

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. Oiling your unfinished fretboard, a waste of time?

People seem to think it moisturizes the wood, but it can't since oil & water don't mix & to be moist it needs dampness (water vapor).

2. micguy

micguy

May 17, 2011
    You’re not trying to put water into the wood - I do think a bit of oil now and then helps, but I’m not a wood scientist.

When I played violin, the corresponding stuff they had made a big difference sound wise. OK, here I don’t really know, but it seems like a reasonable thing to do.

3. I’ve always used a little lemon oil on a fretboard ( an unfinished one).
    It never seems to hurt it. The wood drinks it up. Of course, wipe off the excess.
    YMMV

Spidey2112 likes this.
  4. Spidey2112

Spidey2112

Aug 3, 2016
    Not a waste of my time... I oil my rosewood boards, every string change.

Not sure where, or why, water is brought into this equation...

nbsipics and Element Zero like this.
  5. It's why people run humidifiers in their jam-space.

TBH you are, if you're running a humidifier in the room with the instrument.

Lance Bunyon likes this.
  6. Spidey2112

Spidey2112

Aug 3, 2016
    I always thought water came out of the woo...

7. If you don't humidify the room they're in, yes the moisture comes out. (in the Winter months)

Spidey2112 likes this.
  8. micguy

micguy

May 17, 2011