1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ok bass with pedal vs good bass alone

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Austin_h90, Mar 28, 2013.

1. Austin_h90

Austin_h90

Mar 28, 2013
    I just joined this forum, and I'm not very technical yet ha. I was just wondering, would an okay sounding bass give me a better tone than let's say a Musicman? I have an Ibanez SR-300 right now (been playing for 6 months at my church) and I'm just now getting into my sound. Would a good bass, let's say a sterling Sb14 put out more tone than an SR-300 with a pedal?

2. BassKitty101

BassKitty101

Jun 28, 2012
    Oregon
    Endorsing Artist: Luna Guitars, Ashdown Engineering, Cactus Picks
    I'd always go for a good bass before a pedal. Pedal's are nice and I use them but the bass is the thing giving you a large part of the tone!

3. FourBanger

FourBanger

Sep 2, 2012
    SE Como
    It is a matter of what you prefer, but a good bass would always be prefered than a bass that needs a pedal.

Some folks prefer the sound of a Sterling over an SR, some folks prefer the sound of an SR over a Sterling.

What pedal are we even talking about?

4. darkstorm

darkstorm

Oct 13, 2009
    At the same time there will be those who prefer the sound of the Ibanez SR300 over that of the Musicman sb14. There are plenty of lower price basses with excellent sound. And best sound for a player according to their ears is going to vary person to person.

If your sound requirtes overdrive for example. It dont matter what bass you play or how much it costs. Your not going to get your sound nor be satisfied without the overdrive effect.