Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

ok, heres another question

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by bassmonkey144, Apr 13, 2003.

1. ok, in a thread i posted earlier, i asked how you could play bass tabs from guitar chords. the answer was: play the roots, fifths, and octaves.
    ok i have no idea what that means b/c i am a newbie. heres the song, in case anybody needs to look at it:
    Verse:
    D G
    G D/F# A/E A
    D G
    G D/F# A/E A

Chorus:
    D G D/F# A/E A D G
    G D/F# A/E A
    D G D/F# A/E A D G D/F# A/E A

D G D/F# A/E A
    D G D/F# A/E A (D)

thanks a lot

2. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

The simplest, shortest answer I can give you without delving deeper into scale and chord theory would be that the root of a chord is the lowest note in that chord, so in a G major chord the root is G. In a D major chord the root is D, etc.
    That is the easy part.

You ask about octaves. The octave is that exact same note as the root but eight tones higher. In the C major scale, you have C, D, E, F, G, A, B, C. That second C is the octave.

You asked about fifths. The fifth is the fifth tone in the scale. In the C major scale, the fifth is G.

I don't know how familiar you are with your fretboard. If you do have a good basic understanding of how notes are laid out on your fretboard, you will see that it is easy to find the octave of a root of a chord or the fifth, just by the pattern.

The chords shown in your song are all major chords. The ones with a slash, such as D/F# mean that the guitarist is playing a D chord, but he is using the F# part of the chord as the root. This is callled an inversion.