Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

OK, how does one rig a rackmount compressor?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by HeavyDuty, Mar 18, 2002.

1. HeavyDuty

HeavyDuty Supporting Curmudgeon Staff Member Gold Supporting Member

Jun 26, 2000
    Suburban Chicago, IL
    I'm considering picking up a rackmount compressor (maybe a Behringer MDX1400 or a Nady CL5000), but am a wee bit confused. I’ve never used compression before.

I gather from reading past posts a compressor belongs in the beginning of the signal chain, but all of the rack mount models I've seen pictures of have backside input only. Huh?

I'm trying to avoid a pedal, since I'm starting to go wireless.

My rack is currently a SansAmp RBI >> Carvin DCM1000, with a Korg DTR2 in receive only mode from the RBI (I’m not running my signal through it). I'm trying to even out my signal - I'm rather anal, and the occasional blip in my fingerstyle playing really bothers me.

Comments from rackmount compression users?

2. Jeff Moote

Jeff Moote Supporting Member

Oct 11, 2001
    Beamsville, ON, Canada
    No matter what you read, you won't be unhappy putting it in the effects loop of the RBI. I have a BDDI and it will soon feed the same power amp... and eventually be replaced by an RBI. I plan on using it's effects loop for compression.

3. BFunk

BFunk Supporting Member

Compressors won't necessarily fix the blips, they may in fact make them more apparent by raising the signal floor.

I don't know how musch time you have spent playing in bands, but the little blips matter very little in live band situations. You should only pay attention to them during rehearsal, and then only a little, but when recording, pay a lot of attention!!!