Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

OK, I'm kinda new to Primus...

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by Flatwound, Apr 12, 2002.

1. Flatwound

Flatwound Supporting Member

Sep 9, 2000
    San Diego
    So I bought the Brown Album. No particular reason, I just saw it and picked it up. So does anyone know what basses Les plays on what songs on this album? All the songs seem pretty dark-toned, but I thought I heard his fretless Carl Thompson in there, and some stuff that sounded like upright.

2. Brendan

Brendan

Jun 18, 2000
    Austin, TX
    He uses 5 Carl Thompson, and a beat up ol' Kay upright, and I think that's it, I think. He has a couple piccolo basses, a couple 34", and a couple (I.E. Rainbow Bass) 36" basses, all of which have heavy woods. He also uses effects off and on, and just has wierd technique...

3. melvin

melvin

Apr 28, 2001
    Doesnt he have a NS EURB too? I think on the Brown Album he manly used the fretted 6 string and his 4 string with a tremolo (the one hes had since way back in the day)

4. Angus

Angus Supporting Member

Apr 16, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA
    IIRC, he doesn't use the Rainbow bass (fretless) after Sailing the Seas of Cheese. And the NS was used on one song, I think, but it was used with a bow and distortion. I don't remember the song name.

Everything is dark toned because the recording was terrible. It was the only cd they engineered themselves. The songs aren't bad, but the drums and bass sound pretty bad, IMO.

If you buy ONE Primus CD, get Pork Soda. If you get a second, get Sailing the Seas of Cheese.

5. JMX

JMX Vorsprung durch Technik

Sep 4, 2000
    Cologne, Germany
    Hm, funny how tastes differ, I think Pork Soda is their worst album.

Either get Sailing the Seas of Cheese or Frizzle Fry, Primus Mk.I at its best.

6. Angus

Angus Supporting Member

Apr 16, 2000
    Palo Alto, CA