Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Ok, just e-bayed me a Squier P-Bass... What now?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by SteelBassPicker, Nov 22, 2004.

1. Welp, if y'all can tell from the name, I'm a pedal steel player by trade (mostly traditional country music) and am in school studying to be a commercial musician. I got a bass last week off evil-bay, a Squier Affinity P-Bass, made in Indonesia. I have searched for simple and cheap upgrades, but to no avail. My observations and questions are as follows:

1.) Is this a so-called MIC bass I've been reading about? I'm guessing that means "Made in China?" as opposed to "Made in Mexico (MIM)" and America (MIA).

2.) I took the strings, pickguard and neck off just to clean it up, it was pretty filthy, and looks to have been owned near the ocean, most of the screw heads were pretty rusty. I know enough about electronics to most likely change out the pots and jack plug, any suggestions on brand/upgrades for electronics (I don't want to worry about PUps right now, we're going to keep it cheap for now.)?

3.) I was amazed to see that at the neck/body mating point there was what can only be described as an "@$$-load" of unpolished paint bumps on the body portion, with a piece (yes, you heard it here first) of heavy grit sandpaper for grip of the neck to the body. I have plans to sand this paint off in order to get a much smoother contact, thusly achieving better neck-to-body contact. Would any of you suggest using any sort of adhesive to make the contact more positive? I had a hard acrylic or epoxy in mind.

4.) How much should I expect to pay for a fret job? The first 6 frets are noticeably dented from play. Is this necessary, or can I polish them down?