Ok so I'm going to sound incredo-noob but...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by 0scar, Sep 23, 2005.

1. 0scar

Jul 11, 2003
    I can't seem to hook up my amp to my cab, well at least correctly. I have no experience with anything outside combos whatsoever so this is all completely new to me. I bought that ashdown/avatar cab deal at avatarspeakers.com, and it didn't come with any wires or anything to hook them both together (not that I was expecting it, but I'm just clearing that up). Well, obviously once I realized I had nothing to hook them up wtih, I got a guitar cable and hooked up the back of the amp (one of the two outputs) to the back of the cab (one of the two outputs). I turned it on and all I heard was a very faint high pitch buzz, i tried plugging my bass in but it sounded weak and the gauge thing on the amp wasnt moving when i was playing (obviously it wasn't working).

So after you finish laughing at all this, can you please tell me what I need and what I need to do to get this all working? :D thanks in advance, haha.
  2. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001

You can't use a guitar cable to connect your speaker cab. You need a speaker cable. Same size jacks, but speaker cable is a lot more heavy duty. Somebody will be along shortly with more technical information, but long story short - wrong cable.
  3. 0scar

Jul 11, 2003
    Yeah that's what I figured :cool:
    Dammit, this means I have to order some online then wait like another week for it to get here :(
  4. popinfresh

Dec 23, 2004
    Melbourne, Aus
    Wo. No guitar cables, and also, make sure you plug the SPEAKER cable into the right sockets for matching impedence etc.
  5. jobu3

jobu3 Artist formerly known as Big Joe Supporting Member

Feb 17, 2002
    Mountain Top, PA
    That won't matter on the Ashdown he got... At least not on the Ashdowns I've played. That is something more akin to tube amps typically.