Okay to fret an entire chord?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Stephen_C, Nov 13, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Stephen_C

Stephen_C

Nov 13, 2017
    My first post. This is a total newbie question, but is it okay to fret an entire chord at once, or should you only fret one string at a time? Thank-you!

2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    Yes. It's okay.

Ant Illington and HolmeBass like this.
  3. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member

Welcome to bass! It depends entirely on the song. You CAN, but normally you don't. Most songs have a "bass line" that runs one note at a time. Bass notes are low-frequency sounds and a lot of them at once can sound "muddy" and not very musical. But there are some solo bassists who play chordally all the time (look up Michael Manring or Federico Malaman), and apart from that if you listen closely you'll hear songs where occasionally the bassist uses a double-stop or chord for particular effect. Generally, though, trace a bass line THROUGH the chord one note at a time and let the guitarist do the strumming.

4. Stephen_C

Stephen_C

Nov 13, 2017
    Thanks for the quick replies! I was really thinking of playing only one string at a time, but fretting a couple of strings at once. For instance, fretting a G chord and leaving the two strings fretted if I'm going to be playing notes in the G chord (one at a time) for several bars. Just seems like it would reduce the amount of left hand finger motion.

hrodbert696 likes this.
  5. charlie monroe

charlie monroe Gold Supporting Member

Feb 14, 2011
    Buffalo, NY
    Watch your muting.

6. SteveCS

SteveCS

Nov 19, 2014
    Hampshire, UK
    I suppose it depends to some extent on your reach amd touch - if you can reach compound 5ths (4 frets) or 6ths (+13, 6 frets) then mud can be avoided, but +9ths (or 'sus2'), +11ths (or 'sus4') and compound 3rds (10th) can sound very nice and they require little reach.