Old Fender Flats

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by FirewalZ, Apr 24, 2016.

Tags:
  1. FirewalZ

FirewalZ

Aug 14, 2014
    S.E. Michigan
    I was rummaging through my "old string" box and came across a set of Fender flats...they have brass colored ball ends, no silk at the top and green silk at the bottom. Doing some research, I see Fender changed these a few years back. Does anyone know how or if the older versions sound compared to the newer version?

2. I have no personal experience with the old Fender flats, but according to what I've read, they're more "old school" (ie darker and thumpier) than the current ones - more in line with the La Bella DTF and GHS Precision Flats. Also, it is my understanding the old ones were quite a bit stiffer than the new ones.

Yahboy and trothwell like this.
  3. shawshank72

shawshank72

Mar 22, 2009
    Canada
    Alot more darker and stiff but huge sounding.
    Punch galore.
    I love them.

4. FirewalZ

FirewalZ

Aug 14, 2014
    S.E. Michigan
    I measured them with a micrometer, they are a lighter gauge but still very stiff.
    They have a bit more bite and edge to them that my Labella 760FL's.

5. hopeless_opus

hopeless_opus

Apr 2, 2012
    Maryland
    I played the old formula for a bit years back. They are CRAZY stiff, but sound great, imho. I've been playing the newer ones recently and while I preferred the tone of the old ones, I MUCH prefer the feel/flexibility of the new formula. They are somewhat brighter than the old ones, but have some nice mids. The tension/stiffness isn't much more than a comparable set of rounds.

michael_t likes this.
  6. FirewalZ

FirewalZ

Aug 14, 2014
    S.E. Michigan
    Thanks....bumping to get a few more replies..

7. tjh

tjh

Mar 22, 2006
    Minnesota
    Sounds like the cables I used to use back in the early 70's ... back before my arthritis set in ;)

8. iiipopes

iiipopes Supporting Member

May 4, 2009