Old guy made fun of me

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by ldiezman, Jul 25, 2001.

1. ldiezman

Jul 11, 2001
    ok here is my sad story. I had been playing bass for about 6 months and a friend of mine told me to come play bass in the praise band at church. I said ok. bad idea. it was a nightmare. The worst part was this guy walks up to my friend and proceeds to tell him how bad I sucked. this guy is in his 40's and he was making fun of a kid. Anyway a few weeks go buy and he just walks up to me one day out of the blue and says "Jim you suck"... i was so upset. you just don't need to say that to someone unless they are being rude about something. I was being quiet trying to figure out how to play my bass. Well he set me off and instead of yelling at him, I went home and from that day I have practiced about 3 or 4 hours during a day. About 6 months go by and I'm improving a good bit. But Bob still continues to tell me how badly I suck. Finally I just give him my bass and said "bob you say you're so good why don't you show me how to play". He picks up my bass and starts to strum it like a guitar... I started to laugh and proceeded to say that my neck was warped and he couldn't get a good sound out of my bass. That was several years ago. I haven't been back to see this dude nor do I really want to.. I would enjoy walking up to him with my Baby stingray 5 wrapped around me and slamming some groove in his face... but that would just be wrong wouldn't it???? :) that is my story and i'm sticking to it. anyone else have a similar experience
  2. standard reply i always give to someone when he/she says " you suck "

is " yeah.. so did yo mamma yesterday.. whew ! :D "
  3. Gabu

Jan 2, 2001
    Woodland Hills, CA
    It's no biggie guy. Seriously. This is one guy in a world of billions. Play for your own enjoyment not to show off to some dude who won't care how well you play anyway.
  4. john turner