1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Old house, ungrounded outlets...

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by ndrifka, Sep 6, 2008.

1. ndrifka

ndrifka

Aug 14, 2008
    Hey everyone. I'm new to TB and this is my first thread, so please be gentle. After doing some searching here about ungrounded outlets, I still have questions. I recently purchased a LMII and two 151HR cabs (love 15" speakers), and would like to know if plugging my amp into an ungrounded outlet could cause damage to the amp...or myself. I realize a grounded outlet is best, but I live in an old house with ungrounded outlets. Any help/advice would be appreciated.:help:

2. Dogbertday

Dogbertday Commercial User

Jul 10, 2007
    SE Wisconsin
    Blaine Music LLC
    you need to get an adapter and then screw the little tab to the middle of the outlet plate. that will ground it

3. Benjamin Strange

Benjamin Strange Commercial User

Dec 25, 2002
    New Orleans, LA
    Owner / Tech: Strange Guitarworks
    I've got the same issue in my old house - don't worry, you're not going to hurt the amp by plugging it in to an ungrounded outlet. Just get yourself a ground lift adaptor plug and you're all set.

4. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX
    It's not too difficult to just change the outlets, either, but a ground lift will have you up and running. Just be sure to screw in the ground tab.