1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Old Newbie :-)

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by pantherairsoft, Apr 23, 2009.

1. pantherairsoft

pantherairsoft

Apr 22, 2009
    Derby, UK
    Hi People,

New to the forum.

I'm Shep. I had been playing bass for 8 years solid, got through a huge range of gear and had an album out on 2001, but I'll keep the band to myself to avoid any insults and negative feedback :)-)). Main usage was Warwick Basses and Ampeg amps.

I retired from bass playing at the end of 2007 and have not picked up a bass since. I think the time away has done me some good and left me with my creativity bubbling! I am now seriously considering picking one up again.

I'm sure much has changed since I left the scene... but its like riding a bike isn't it :)?

Considering going for one of the few basses I have used but not owned, either a Stingray (everyone has to own one at Some point!?), Warwick Thumb BO (Used to play a streamer quite a bit and always fancied the thumb) or a Wal if I can lay my hands on a pretty one.

Hope to speak to people going forwards,

Shep

2. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    Welcome back!!!!!! I think you couldn't go wrong with any of those basses. I played pro for about 22 years and took a break for about 8 months before returning even part-time. The break was GREAT and I was refreshed and ready to go! I hope it's the same for you!

3. pantherairsoft

pantherairsoft

Apr 22, 2009
    Derby, UK
    Feeling refreshed and excited about getting anew bass. I hadn't felt any urge to play for 18 months so its a great feeling! :)

4. StyleOverShow

StyleOverShow Still Playing After All These Years Gold Supporting Member

May 3, 2008