old teisco

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by skabass1, Feb 13, 2009.

1. skabass1

skabass1

Feb 13, 2009
    Seattle, WA
    Hi everyone,

I recently bought an 60's Teisco bass. All electronics seemed to be okay when I plugged into the amp, but it picks up the noise not only from the vibration of the strings, but tapping sound from the body. I have never had this problem with any of my other basses (Rickenbacker 4003, Fender PB, Aria Pro II I don't remember the model). I am not good at electronics and never tried to modifiy or change pickups. I am assuming that this problem is due to the pickups on this bass. I am wondering if anybody know how to fix it without putting new pickups if possible?

Thanks

2. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Yamaha, Ampeg, Line 6, EMG
    Sounds like typical Teisco microphonic pickups to me. Fix it and you ruin its magic ;)

3. skabass1

skabass1

Feb 13, 2009
    Seattle, WA
    Thanks for the respose.
    I looked up the microphonic pickups on google and to fix it, I have to fill the pickup with wax. Is it worth doing or better buy a new pickup? And what do you mean by "you ruin its magic?"

4. The magic of a 60's garage band.

5. amimbari

amimbari

May 6, 2008
    Pittsburgh, PA
    oh man my old Matsu/Teisco no-namer is quite the squealer if you get too close to the cabinet :D.....

....the squeal I believe is the ghost of the previous owner who see's I'm playing metal on it in 2009 instead of 70's old school rock, and is saying uh,no..... :bassist:

6. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Yamaha, Ampeg, Line 6, EMG