Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Old version of bass balls. Wow!

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by dustamaphone, Mar 10, 2002.

1. dustamaphone

dustamaphone

Feb 24, 2002
    USA, MN
    Some years ago shortly after I started playing I ran across a Bass Balls unit and this puppy was old. I don't remember if it was made by the same company that makes em' now but this thing put the new one to shame. It was soooo cool I mounted it right to my bass! That wasn't to practical so I took it off and it was stolen at a party on night. So when I saw they were on the market again I bought one and returned the next day. Where did the magic go? Have any of you old timers played the older models. Where can you get em nowadays?

2. gmann

gmann

Mar 1, 2001
    I still have the original one which I bought brand new. Funny, I don't feel like an old timer when I'm onstage playing Death Metal.

3. Mohawk Freak

Mohawk Freak

Mar 8, 2002
    London
    One very usefull bit of knowledge I've only just discovered is that some pedals, including EH pedals, have a "trim pot" inside. If you open it up look for the little pots recessed in the circuit board, these adjust the sound. I've just opened up my Q tron and adjusted it so that I can engage the "boost" mode so that it actually cuts the volume to a level that's comparable to the unmodified guitar lever, AT the level of gain I want to produce a phat wah. Very usefull. Now the bassballs has 2 of these, one for the normal and one for the distorted sound. I have a black sovtek re-issue with blue writing. I've never heard an original so I can't compare but I've just tweaked mine to what I think is a much better sound. The distortion really growls now! We'll see properly at band practise tonight when I can get to my ampeg (instead of the 15w park I have here!).