1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Oldest (earliest) production Ernie ball Musicman Sterling on record?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by droskobass, Feb 12, 2013.

1. droskobass

droskobass

Oct 8, 2007
    Montreal, Canada
    Former Part-Time, Non-Commission Employee MOOG Audio
    Ok so I've been loving my Feb '98 Sterling for 15 years now, so I decided to get a second, and I wanted to get an even older one. After trying my friend's 1994 I figured an early '94 or 1993 would be the way to go. so I checked kijiji and found one locally that according to the serial number was a 1993!

After buying it and popping off the neck (those screws were TIGHT!) to my delight i found what I believe is the earliest documented neck date for a production (i.e. non prototype) Sterling: June 9, 1993.

Any other "oldie" Sterlings out there?

8469331994_3f6933b00d_b.

8468218603_333e1a5a8f_b.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/93146965@N07/8469331994/in/photostream/

http://www.flickr.com/photos/93146965@N07/8468218603/in/photostream/

2. birminghambass

birminghambass Supporting Member

Sep 18, 2002
    Birmingham, AL
    I used to have a 94. Birdseye maple neck and larger bridge. Played sooooo smooth.

3. You ought to post pics of your early Sterling on the Musicman forum. That does sound like an early one - there's also a thread to give the official DOB from the Musicman database (it's the date the instrument left set up at the factory - i.e assembled AFAIK).

4. The Sterling is a totally underrated bass. Love em!

5. bassclef112

bassclef112 Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2003
    New York City, NY