1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

OLP MM copy OR fender P mim

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Richie_M_, Aug 5, 2012.

1. Richie_M_

Richie_M_

Dec 30, 2011
    So, I am buying one of these today. My first bass that I'm buying since I've been burrowing a bass for close to 2 years. Being slightly inexperienced, I was curious what you guys think is the better deal. The olp mm for $240 or the fender p mim for $340. How close is a stock olp mm to a SUB mm or sterling? Sorry for the dumb questions, I'm kinda new to all of this.

2. solderjunkie

solderjunkie

Jan 27, 2008
    Nashville TN
    The MIM Fender actually sounds and feels like a Fender Precision should.

The OLP MM... notsomuch, it sounds and feels nothing like a Stingray. It only looks like one.

3. M.R. Ogle

M.R. Ogle Gold Supporting Member Commercial User

Nov 5, 2004
    Mount Vernon, Illinois
    Backstage Guitar Lab owner
    Not even close.
    The MIM Fender P.
    Also more readily available upgrade components for the P.

4. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Supporting Member

Fender MIM P, no comparison, the OLP is not even in the same league. Seriously, the OLPs pickups sound anemic and the couple I have worked with had some terrible fretwork, a proper setup was impossible.

5. gigslut

gigslut

Dec 13, 2011
    St Louis, Mo
    What can I say that hasn't already been said.
    I had an OLP MM 5 string. Bought it used at what I thought was a bargain, still took a beating when I sold it. Neck was OK, pickups were mediocre at best and the body was not a good reproduction af a MM. It never got played out of the house.
    My main bass is a MIM P bass with upgraded pickups and pots.

6. Richie_M_

Richie_M_

Dec 30, 2011