1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

OLP MM2 Bass guitar.

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by loops84, Feb 29, 2008.

1. loops84

loops84

Feb 20, 2008
    I need to know if this bass has an adjustable truss rod. That and where can I get some upgrades for it, you know change the knobs, the pick guard, maybe even get some better electronics for it. I am a beginner bassist and want to use this one for a little while, it's just that it isn't that loud.

2. Absolutely...you're not looking in the right place. The adjustment is at the base of the neck - it's a round nut with openings into which you can insert a small hex key or screwdriver and turn the nut. Loosen the strings first, give it no more than 1/4 turn, then tension the strings and give it overnight to move before adjusting it any further. (You can see it at the base of the neck in the photo below.)

I bought a used OLP M22 about two weeks ago, and I'm very impressed with it. I don't see any shortcomings of knobs, pickup, etc that need to be addressed, so I would suggest you go slowly and get used to the instrument.

If your knobs are the same chrome Precision-bass style as mine, I'm not sure what you could find that would look better. The chrome-on-chrome look forks for me. Yesterday I added a Fender-style thumbrest to the E string side of the pickguard to give me a thumb placement option in between the neck and the pickup.

Here's mine:

P2160003.

3. robert43

robert43

Jun 5, 2007
    Australia
    My sons freind has 1 & yes to all questions . The truss rod is adjustable via a wheel at the bottoms of the neck it has holes in it.
    Knobs same as ever other bass / guitar
    Pickgaurd - Music Man ( I dont know what model or custum made 1)
    Pickup any MM pup ie EMG LF SD etc
    Pots & cap same as any othe bass / guitar
    I see Pilgrame bet me to it

4. nickn

nickn

Oct 6, 2007