1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

OMG What Did I Do... First Double Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by nocats, Dec 29, 2018.

1. nocats

nocats

Dec 27, 2018
    I thought that with a compact car, I would never be able to get an upright that I've been dreaming of for so many years, (I won't say how many) but then I just happen to see a YT video from Upton Bass folks where a guy put one in a Mini Cooper and that video gnawed on my brain until the day after Christmas I remembered that on this very forum, I saw a guy selling a bass too far from me, but he said he got it from a place, shockingly, 10 mins from me. They closed in half an hour, an hour later I pulled that giant out of my tiny car and inside and now I'm sore in a few places.

rwkeating, Remyd, noelpaz and 3 others like this.
  2. hypercarrots

hypercarrots

Jan 28, 2009
    los angeles
    What kind of car?

el murdoque likes this.
  3. nocats

nocats

Dec 27, 2018
    Corolla from 06. I just realized I'm in BG, I guess this should be in DB.

4. Are you sore from lifting the bass wrong, sore from carrying it wrong, or sore from playing it without calluses?

The best way to lift your bass is to hold it with a side against you, the neck over your shoulder, your outer hand within the outer C bout and your inner hand within the inner C bout...

The best way to carry your bass any distance is to wheel it, do a search here for that and you'll get lots of ideas.

The best way to get calluses is to... to get calluses. It usually also involves getting blisters at first. When you feel the hot spot forming, take a break and put ice on it. If you still have to play more, tape it up (I use duct tape with a folded tissue pad over the hot spot / blister).