On a Budget...Any Ideas?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by jbasso, Mar 17, 2006.

1. jbasso

Mar 1, 2006
    Hugo, MN
    Little background... I have been playing bass for a little over a year now, and am evolving as a player. I started out with an Ibanez gsr100 and Crate 10 or 15w practice amp. I finally purchased a new bass (sr905) which is amazing, but I feel I need a new rig to compliment it. I guess I dont have a SET budget, but it is fairly low. As of now, I am only playing at church, no gigging band or anything, so I dont NEED some 3000 dollar rig. I was looking at this GK setup:
    Click Here

Any thoughts? Honestly, I am new at shopping for new equipment in this area. What should I be looking for?

Lets say 400, thats my budget... If you guys had 400 to spend on a new rig, let me know what you would do

I really appreciate your help, this forum is great!
  2. mattvon

Jan 22, 2006
    Minneapolis, MN
    I know this is a bit more dough than you'd like to spend, but I'm really digging the idea of a Ashdown MAG 300/Avatar B410Delta as a budget rig right now. It'd be a good starting point, and you could easily expand it as your need and budget allows.

$648 shipped to your door...maybe worth considering?
  3. ElBajista

Dec 13, 2005
    Sebring, FL
    +1. You can get it for even less if you shop used. Every once in a while Avatars and cheap, good quality heads pop up in the For Sale forums.

I suggest you buy used. You'll save money, and if you keep the items in good condition you can get most of your money back should you decide to sell.
  4. i was looking at an ashdown MAG300 and an ashdown 410T as my first "real" rig. 600+shipping. mabey if you took the time to get a little more cash for your budget, you might just get something really worthwile that you can build upon and expand as you grow and expand as a bass player. good luck!
  5. jbasso

Mar 1, 2006
    Hugo, MN