On/Off Switch Help!!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Discgraham, Sep 25, 2004.

1. Hi everyone,
    Ok here's my situation. I recently started playing at my church for a few contemporary music services. We musicians stand up front for most of the service, but at one point, we actually go down and sit in the pews. Now my bass gives quite a bit of feedback when I'm not touching it, so I end up sitting up front while everyone else goes down. I can't turn my amp off because of the huge POP when I turn it back on.

So anyways, I'm wondering if an on/off switch would allow me to set my instrument down without the loud pop of turning it back on. The bass is an old passive P bass. I have all the stuff needed to install a switch, but I'm not going to do it until I know it works.

Thanks in advance!

(ps if this doesn't work, I'll just get a new bass!)
  2. Look for an instrument cord with a switch built in to the plug at the end you put into the instrument. The switch is spring-loaded, so that when you un-plug it, the switch shorts the cable, so you don't get the "pop" you describe. They were developed so they could be plugged in and un-plugged without having to turn down the amplifier.

- Wil
  3. jaxlaw

Oct 5, 2002
    Winter Garden
    I had the same problem durring our services - Couldn't easily get to the Amp and I had mute and volume issues I use my Boss Tuner and/ or an Ernnie Ball volume pedal either will work to mute your signal the volume pedal has the advatage of being able to adjust to the intesnsithy of the service with a little foot action - both sit on the floor - works for me.
  4. Lyle Caldwell

Lyle Caldwell

Sep 7, 2004
    Or you could just use the volume knob on the bass.
  5. nonsqtr

nonsqtr The emperor has no clothes!

Aug 29, 2003
    Burbank CA USA