Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

On stage monitors

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by theshadow2001, Nov 14, 2005.

1. theshadow2001

theshadow2001

Jun 17, 2004
    Ireland
    I dont know if this is quite the correct forum but....

My band is going to need some monitors soon(well we've needed them for ages).In the near future we will be running through a HK projector PA thats about 3.6kW of pure PA power. Now I've never used monitors before in a band no one had money for them and they werent especially needed which means I dont have a clue when it comes to these. We will be running 4 seperate mixes. Well some could be the same depends on the venue. On my own mix some bass might need to go through maybe a touch of kick drum as well as some guitar and mostly vocals. So my questions to you...

-What kind of monitors should I use?

-What kind of wattage do you need when running monitors on a rig this size?

-What size speakers would I need to use especially if theres kick and bass going through?

-Would a speaker smaller than 12" be too small?

-Does the quality of monitor make much of a difference since all you need it for is just hearing whats going on not for audiophile enjoyment.

-Will the quality of monitor affect feed back

-Do you need to eq monitors to the same extent as FOH?

-Would you need a sperate eq for a monitor or would whatever tone control/graphic that comes with it do?

-Is there any key things Im overlooking?

Any advice people can pass on would be great.Any links to articles or more info on the topic would also be great. Cheers

2. be carefull of putting bass through your monitor, as it can cause phasing problems with your rig.

3. ras1983

ras1983

Dec 28, 2004
    Sydney, Australia